Wi-Fire is no more!

Image representing hField Technologies as depi...

Image via CrunchBase

Sadly, the hField Wi-Fire is no more. hField Technologies ceased production a while back and so I am no longer able to source any more  stock. It was largely due to the lack of a fix for a bug that rendered the adapter unusable with Mac OS X Lion and above. The Wi-Fire still works with Windows XP and Mac OS X up to Snow Leopard (and most version of Linux available up to 2010).

Apparently hField couldn’t solve the driver issue and both Apple and Atheros (maker of the chip that provides the wi-fi signal) were unable to help resolve the issue either.

Its a great loss as the Wi-Fire was one fo the best (if not the best) high power wi-fi adapters on the market. Certainly the fact that its no longer ion production has meant the end of my own business as the Wi-Fire was a big part of it and the main reason I set my company up was to market it in the UK and elsewhere. I still get enquiries about the product but sadly have no stock to sell anyone. I also still get the odd call for support, which I gladly give where I can though as the company no longer trades I am not able to accept returns. Its a while since I sold the last unit anyways and certainly more than the 12 months guarantee period. As long as you are using Windows (up to XP for sure or OS X up to Snow Leopard) the Wi-Fire still works as well as ever.

There remains the possibility of a new product from  hField though I have no firm details. I will certainly post the news here if anything comes of it.

Leave a Reply

